The List of Steely Dan Albums in Order of Release

Steely Dan Albums Images

Having sold more than 40 million albums worldwide, the American jazz rock band Steely Dan discography consists of nine studio albums, 21 singles, two live albums, one live set on DVD, seven compilations in the United States, one box set, and numerous other appearances.

With their jazz-schooled chops and studio-crafted elegance, Steely Dan symbolised the softening of rock throughout the 1970s. But though their music projected an air of affluence, Donald Fagen and Walter Becker were mostly interested in lyrically interrogating the era’s decadence, staging each song as a swanky high-society party infiltrated by prostitutes, gamblers and other wayward souls desperate to make a dollar. Upon forming in New York in 1972, Steely Dan projected more of a streetwise edge on early standards like the Santana-esque “Do It Again” and “Reeling in the Years”, whose arpeggiated guitar hook anticipated the twinned-lead solos of Thin Lizzy. But like The Beatles before them, Fagen and Becker stopped touring to reinvent Steely Dan as a studio-based, session-player-powered entity, pursuing a more finessed fusion of jazz, rock and soul that achieved its apotheosis on 1977’s immaculate Aja. And yet, as their music became more sophisticated, Fagen’s lyrics turned more seedy and cynical, lacing the proto-disco groove of “Peg” with suggestive casting-couch intimations, while using the smooth strut of “Hey Nineteen” to catalogue the dysfunctional relationship between an older man and his teenage lover. After splitting in 1981, Steely Dan enjoyed a surprise second act beginning with 2000’s Two Against Nature, proving they’re still the only band that can write a breezy song about incestual desire (“Cousin Dupree”) and get Grammys in return. The 21st century saw Steely Dan become a more active touring act than ever before, and Fagen kept the show on the road even after Becker’s death from cancer in 2017. All the while, Steely Dan continue to cast a long shadow over the contemporary musical landscape, through the forward-thinking rappers (Kanye West, Wiz Khalifa) who’ve sampled their supple arrangements, and the indie iconoclasts (Mac DeMarco, Father John Misty) who embed illicit ideas in soothing songs. So, if you are a die heart fan of Steely Dan Albums then check out here we have list of Steely Dan albums in order of release so far.


Steely Dan Albums Available on:  Apple Music 


All Steely Dan Albums in Order: Check Out The List of Steely Dan Albums in Order of Release Here!

  1. Can’t Buy a Thrill — November 1972
  2. Countdown to Ecstasy — July 1973
  3. Pretzel Logic — February 20, 1974
  4. Katy Lied — March 1975
  5. The Royal Scam — May 31, 1976
  6. Aja — September 23, 1977
  7. Gaucho — November 21, 1980
  8. Two Against Nature — February 29, 2000
  9. Everything Must Go — June 10, 2003


All Steely Dan Album List

1. Can’t Buy a Thrill (1972)

Steely Dan Albums Can't Buy a Thrill image


  1. Do It Again
  2. Dirty Work
  3. Kings
  4. Midnite Cruiser
  5. Only a Fool Would Say That
  6. Reelin’ In the Years
  7. Fire in the Hole
  8. Brooklyn (Owes the Charmer Under Me)
  9. Change of the Guard
  10. Turn That Heartbeat Over Again


2. Countdown to Ecstasy (1973)

Steely Dan Albums Countdown to Ecstasy image


  1. Bodhisattva
  2. Razor Boy
  3. The Boston Rag
  4. Your Gold Teeth
  5. Show Biz Kids
  6. My Old School
  7. Pearl of the Quarter
  8. King of the World


3. Pretzel Logic (1974)

Steely Dan Albums Pretzel Logic image


  1. Rikki Don’t Lose That Number
  2. Night by Night
  3. Any Major Dude Will Tell You
  4. Barrytown
  5. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  6. Parker’s Band
  7. Through with Buzz
  8. Pretzel Logic
  9. With a Gun
  10. Charlie Freak
  11. Monkey in Your Soul


4. Katy Lied (1975)

Steely Dan Albums Katy Lied image


  1. Black Friday
  2. Bad Sneakers
  3. Rose Darling
  4. Daddy Don’t Live in that New York City No More
  5. Doctor Wu
  6. Everyone’s Gone to the Movies
  7. Your Gold Teeth II
  8. Chain Lightning
  9. Any World (That I’m Welcome To)
  10. Throw Back the Little Ones


5. The Royal Scam (1976)

Steely Dan Albums The Royal Scam image


  1. Kid Charlemagne
  2. The Caves of Altamira
  3. Don’t Take Me Alive
  4. Sign In Stranger
  5. The Fez
  6. Green Earrings
  7. Haitian Divorce
  8. Everything You Did
  9. The Royal Scam


6. Aja (1977)

Steely Dan Albums Aja image


  1. Black Cow
  2. Aja
  3. Deacon Blues
  4. Peg
  5. Home at Last
  6. I Got the News
  7. Josie


7. Gaucho (1980)

Steely Dan Albums Gaucho image


  1. Babylon Sisters
  2. Hey Nineteen
  3. Glamour Profession
  4. Gaucho
  5. Time Out of Mind
  6. My Rival
  7. Third World Man


8. Two Against Nature (2000)

Steely Dan Albums Two Against Nature image


  1. Gaslighting Abbie
  2. What a Shame About Me
  3. Two Against Nature
  4. Janie Runaway
  5. Almost Gothic
  6. Jack of Speed
  7. Cousin Dupree
  8. Negative Girl
  9. West of Hollywood


9. Everything Must Go (2003)

Steely Dan Albums Everything Must Go image


  1. The Last Mall
  2. Things I Miss the Most
  3. Blues Beach
  4. Godwhacker
  5. Slang of Ages
  6. Green Book
  7. Pixeleen
  8. Lunch with Gina
  9. Everything Must Go


Thanks for Visit!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *