The List of Metallica Albums in Order of Release

Metallica Albums in Order Images

Having sold over 125 million albums worldwide, Metallica ranks as one of the most commercially successful bands of all time, released 10 studio albums, 8 live albums, 3 extended plays, 43 singles, 10 video albums, 42 music videos, one soundtrack album, one collaboration album and 3 box sets. It’s fast tempos, instrumentals and aggressive musicianship made them one of the founding “big four” bands of thrash metal, alongside Megadeth, Anthrax, and Slayer.

Metallica is an American heavy metal band, formed in 1981 in Los Angeles by vocalist/guitarist James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich, after several bassist and lead guitarist changes (including Dave Mustaine), the band settled on Cliff Burton and Kirk Hammett, respectively. Metallica’s current lineup comprises founding members and primary songwriters Hetfield and Ulrich, longtime lead guitarist Kirk Hammett, and bassist Robert Trujillo.

Started playing locally, releasing their first widely circulated demo, No Life ’til Leather, in 1982, Metallica released their debut album “Kill ‘Em All” in 1983, and the following year they released Ride the Lightning . Its third studio album, Master of Puppets, which was Metallica’s first album to be certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) and cited as one of the heaviest metal albums and the band’s best work. The band’s next album, …And Justice for All (1988), gave Metallica its first Grammy Award nomination, for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance, but controversially lost to Jethro Tull’s Crest of a Knave. Its fifth, self-titled album, often called The Black Album, was released in 1991 and debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, making it Metallica’s first album to top the album charts. It was the band’s first not to root predominantly in thrash metal. It appealed to a more mainstream audience, achieving substantial commercial success and selling over 16 million copies in the United States to date; making it the best-selling album of the SoundScan era. After experimenting with different genres and directions in subsequent releases, Metallica returned to its thrash metal roots with the release of its ninth album, Death Magnetic (2008), which drew similar praise to that of the band’s earlier albums. The band’s most recent album is Hardwired… to Self-Destruct (2016). So, if you are a die heart fan of Metallica then check out here we have gathered all Metallica albums in order of release so far.


Metallica Albums Available on:  Apple Music 


All Metallica Albums in Order: Check Out The List of Metallica Albums in Order Here!

  1. Kill ‘Em All — July 25, 1983
  2. Ride the Lightning — July 27, 1984
  3. Master of Puppets — March 3, 1986
  4. …And Justice for All — September 7, 1988
  5. Metallica — August 12, 1991
  6. Load — June 4, 1996
  7. Reload — November 18, 1997
  8. St. Anger — June 5, 2003
  9. Death Magnetic — September 12, 2008
  10. Hardwired… to Self-Destruct — November 18, 2016


All Metallica Albums List in Order

1. Kill ‘Em All (1983)

Metallica Albums Kill 'Em All image


  1. Hit the Lights
  2. The Four Horsemen
  3. Motorbreath
  4. Jump in the Fire
  5. (Anesthesia)-Pulling Teeth
  6. Whiplash
  7. Phantom Lord
  8. No Remorse
  9. Seek & Destroy
  10. Metal Militia


2. Ride the Lightning (1984)

Metallica Albums Ride the Lightning image


  1. Fight Fire with Fire
  2. Ride the Lightning
  3. For Whom the Bell Tolls
  4. Fade to Black
  5. Trapped Under Ice
  6. Escape
  7. Creeping Death
  8. The Call of Ktulu


3. Master of Puppets (1986)

Metallica Albums Master of Puppets image


  1. Battery
  2. Master of Puppets
  3. The Thing That Should Not Be
  4. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  5. Disposable Heroes
  6. Leper Messiah
  7. Orion
  8. Damage, Inc.


4. …And Justice for All (1988)

Metallica Albums ...And Justice for All image


  1. Blackened
  2. …And Justice for All
  3. Eye of the Beholder
  4. One
  5. The Shortest Straw
  6. Harvester of Sorrow
  7. The Frayed Ends of Sanity
  8. To Live Is to Die
  9. Dyers Eve


5. Metallica (1991)

Metallica Albums Metallica image


  1. Enter Sandman
  2. Sad but True
  3. Holier than Thou
  4. The Unforgiven
  5. Wherever I May Roam
  6. Don’t Tread on Me
  7. Through the Never
  8. Nothing Else Matters
  9. Of Wolf and Man
  10. The God That Failed
  11. My Friend of Misery
  12. The Struggle Within


6. Load (1996)

Metallica Albums Load image


  1. Ain’t My Bitch
  2. 2 X 4
  3. The House Jack Built
  4. Until It Sleeps
  5. King Nothing
  6. Hero of the Day
  7. Bleeding Me
  8. Cure
  9. Poor Twisted Me
  10. Wasting My Hate
  11. Mama Said
  12. Thorn Within
  13. Ronnie
  14. The Outlaw Torn


7. Reload (1997)

Metallica Albums Reload image


  1. Fuel
  2. The Memory Remains
  3. Devil’s Dance
  4. The Unforgiven II
  5. Better than You
  6. Slither
  7. Carpe Diem Baby
  8. Bad Seed
  9. Where the Wild Things Are
  10. Prince Charming
  11. Low Man’s Lyric
  12. Attitude
  13. Fixxxer


8. St. Anger (2003)

Metallica Albums St. Anger image


  1. Frantic
  2. St. Anger
  3. Some Kind of Monster
  4. Dirty Window
  5. Invisible Kid
  6. My World
  7. Shoot Me Again
  8. Sweet Amber
  9. The Unnamed Feeling
  10. Purify
  11. All Within My Hands


9. Death Magnetic (2008)

Metallica Albums Death Magnetic image


  1. That Was Just Your Life
  2. The End of the Line
  3. Broken, Beat & Scarred
  4. The Day That Never Comes
  5. All Nightmare Long
  6. Cyanide
  7. The Unforgiven III
  8. The Judas Kiss
  9. Suicide & Redemption
  10. My Apocalypse


10. Hardwired… to Self-Destruct (2016)

Metallica Albums Hardwired... to Self-Destruct image


  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth into Flame
  5. Dream No More
  6. Halo on Fire
  7. Confusion
  8. ManUNkind
  9. Here Comes Revenge
  10. Am I Savage?
  11. Murder One
  12. Spit Out the Bone


Thanks for Visit!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *